As soon as England had separated Quebec into Upper and Lower Canada by the Constitutional Act of 1791, the new legislature of Upper Canada (Ontario) used their first statute to reject French civil law and to introduce English common law and English rules of evidence. Each province is given a lieutenant-governor which is supported by an elected assembly.

Upper Canada gave the right to vote to those who own land or pay £10 in rent. Most women did not vote anyway but just in case, the province of New Brunswick enacted a law which excluded them. This is in stark contrast to Iroquois law which not allows women the right to vote, but Indian women were alone in selecting the political leaders.

British North America was now comprised of four colonies: Upper and Lower Canada, New Brunswick (since 1784) and Nova Scotia. Meanwhile, George Vancouver was charting new land at the other end of continent.