The English Parliament has actually given the title of "Statute of Westminster" to four different laws. Three of them were passed in the 1200s. the one that concerns Canada was passed in 1931. Its main importance lay in stating that Canada was an independent country for the purposes of international affairs. Canada has full legal freedoms and its acts, or those of its provinces, are no longer subservient to British law. The only legal connection laid in the retention by the British Parliament of the authority of amending the Canadian constitution, the BNA Act.